Feature: Tracking the writing process

In Brienne Strohl’s Facebook post that I reference in my mission statement, she writes:

I notice that there are few phenomenologically focused records of rationality training. In other words, there’s not a lot of highly transparent description of what it’s like *from the inside* to gain cognitive skills.

When I read this, it occurred to me that I don’t know of any phenomenologically focused records of the crafting of a story (there might be some, but there are probably not enough). This seems like a worthwhile endeavor, both for myself and for others, in order to gain insight into the writing process.

In this feature, I will log my thought process as I craft a short story (and perhaps more in the future). I will be as thorough and as honest as possible. This will hopefully culminate in a completed version of that story.

I am a bit concerned that this will undermine the magic of the story – that suspension of disbelief will be impossible if the reader can spot the seams, knowing about the process of its creation, or that the experience of reading will be over-intellectualized rather than visceral. Also, I wonder whether I’ll be inhibited in the process, knowing that my thoughts are to be made public. On the other hand, these in themselves might be an interesting and worthwhile aspect of this experiment.

Developing the short story The Trial of Guilt and Grace: Index

Part 1

Leave a Reply

